Gallagher and Kavanagh return to Donegal’s starting 15

Rory Kavanagh in action for Donegal against Meath during this year's National Football League.

Rory Kavanagh in action for Donegal against Meath during this year’s National Football League.

Donegal have named their starting 15 for Sunday’s Ulster senior football semi final clash with Antrim in Clones.

The team shows two changes from that which started against Derry: Rory Kavanagh returns from suspension to resume his midfield partnership with Neil Gallagher, who returns to the starting 15 following injury.

Buncrana’s Darach O’Connor and Gaoth Dobhair’s Odhran Mac Niallais are the players to lose out. Ardara’s Conor Classon drops from the 26 players named in the match day squad to make way for the returning Kavanagh.

Donegal also features a number of positional changes.

Karl Lacey is named at centre half back, with Paddy McGrath slotting in at corner back, a role he filled against Derry when he was brought into the starting 15 as a late replacement just before throw-in.

Leo McLoone, named at centre half back against Derry but who played at centre half forward, is given the number 11 jersey while Ryan McHugh moves to the wing.

At any rate, that’s how they line out in the programme. Things might very well change once the teams line out on the pitch come 2pm on Sunday!


The Donegal team is: Paul Durcan; Eamon McGee, Neil McGee, Paddy McGrath; Frank McGlynn, Karl Lacey, Anthony Thompson; Neil Gallagher, Rory Kavanagh; Christy Toye, Leo McLoone, Ryan McHugh; Patrick McBrearty, Michael Murphy, Colm McFadden. Subs: Michael Boyle, Declan Walsh, Luke Keaney, Martin McElhinney, Odhran Mac Niallais, David Walsh, Dermot Molloy, Darach O’Connor, Leon Thompson, Martin O’Reilly, Hugh McFadden.

The following two tabs change content below.

Damian Dowds

Damian studied at NUI Maynooth and worked with Intel Ireland on graduation. Followings stints as a civil servant in Leinster House, and with magazine publisher Ashville Media, he returned to Inishowen to set up the Inishowen Independent in 2007.

Speak Your Mind