Former councillors share €330,000 in parachute payments


Outgoing councillors in Donegal’s four local authorities received more than €330,000 in gratuity payments following last May’s local elections.

Former members of Buncrana Town Council shared €46,000 in gratuities, while five outgoing Donegal county councillors shared a further €193,000. Bundoran Town Council paid €50,533 to its former councillors, while Letterkenny’s Town Council accounted for another €40,606 in payments.

The gratuity payment is made in recognition of years of service, and to cushion the blow of life after politics.

It is made to sitting councillors who retired, or contested the local election and lost. The abolition of town councils in Buncrana, Letterkenny and Bundoran saw a particularly high number of retirements in 2014.

Former county councillor Mickey Doherty of Fine Gael received a pay out of €16,605 for a single term as councillor from 2009.

Other former Donegal councillors John Boyle (Fine Gael), Padraig Doherty (Independent) and David Alcorn (Fianna Fáil) received €47,694 each while Noel McBride (Fine Gael) received €33,512.

Overall Donegal County Council paid out a total of €193,199.

To read more on this story click here.